Skip to main content
Toggle menu


Past – Present – Future



50 years to the day since the orchestra played its first concert, we celebrate our birthday with the music that has shaped our identity – past, present and future. Co-founder David Atherton joins George Benjamin and Vladimir Jurowski in conducting a journey that begins with the music of Stravinsky, Ligeti and Birtwistle, courses through to the London premiere of Hans Abrahamsen’s piano concerto Left, alone and peers into the future with a new commission by RPS award-winning composer Samantha Fernando. Join us, along with alumni from the London Sinfonietta Academy, as we wait with anticipation to see what the next 50 years have in store.

Sir Harrison Birtwistle The Message
Igor Stravinsky Octet                                    
György Ligeti Chamber Concerto
Samantha Fernando new work (world premiere)                              
Hans Abrahamsen Left, alone (London premiere)

David Atherton conductor                                    
George Benjamin conductor                                    
Vladimir Jurowski conductor                                    
Tamara Stefanovich solo piano
London Sinfonietta 
London Sinfonietta Academy Alumni


Watch the season trailer

Supported by

Cockayne The London Community Foundation lark Insurance


Please note that booking takes place on external sites.
The link will open in a new window.

  • Tickets £35, 25, 15 ǀ Limited £5 16–25

    Venue: (view map)

    Royal Festival Hall
    Southbank Centre
    Belvedere Road
    SE1 8XX

    Box Office No:
    0207 960 4200