Skip to main content
Toggle menu




On Wednesday 24 and Thursday 25 February we perform the UK premiere of Michel Van der Aa's Book of Disquiet.

On Monday 22 February he joins the Institute of Musical Research for a talk, as part of their International Composers Seminar Series. Born in 1970 and one of the most outstanding Dutch composers of his generation, Van der Aa's music has an idiomatic sense for the stage: instruments, voices, electronics, actors, theatre and video are all extensions of his musical vocabulary, in a play of changing perspectives.

His ability to fuse music, text and visual images into a totally organic whole sets him apart from nearly all his contemporaries” (The Guardian).

The International Composers Seminar Series features talks by leading international composers, linked to performances of their work in the UK. Organised by Dr Paul Archbold, in collaboration with Contemporary Music Research Unit Goldsmiths, Guildhall School, Kings College London, Institute of Modern Languages Research School of Advanced Study, Royal Northern College of Music, University of Huddersfield, University of Oxford, Royal Holloway University of London, in association with Royal Opera House, BBC Symphony Orchestra, Britten Sinfonia, London Sinfonietta and Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival.



Please note that booking takes place on external sites.
The link will open in a new window.

  • Free


    Guildhall School
    Silk Street
    EC2Y 8DT