Skip to main content
Toggle menu


Radical musical change

Wiltshire Music Centre

London Sinfonietta in rehearsal © Domizia Salusest

Turning Points explores game-changing composers of the 20th century through new concert experiences. This event takes the 1960s as its focus, and the social and political background that provided the setting for many composers to radically reinvent the possibilities of composition. Presented by Jonathan Cross, the evening includes an illustrated talk featuring footage from the era and musical snippets from London Sinfonietta musicians, including performances of the music of Berio, Boulez, Ligeti and Stockhausen: the influence of whose ground-breaking styles can still be felt today. The evening concludes with a complete performance of Ligeti’s Poème Symphonique for 100 metronomes

Programme to include:
György Ligeti Poème Symphonique
Karlheinz Stockhausen Adieu for wind quintet (extract)
Pierre Boulez Domaines for solo clarinet (extract)
Luciano Berio Sequenza VII for oboe
György Ligeti 10 Pieces for Wind-Quintet

Jonathan Cross presenter
London Sinfonietta 



Please note that booking takes place on external sites.
The link will open in a new window.

  • £16 (plus concessions)

    Venue: (view map)

    Wiltshire Music Centre,
    Ashley Road
    Bradford on Avon
    BA15 1DZ

    Box Office No:
    01225 860100