Skip to main content
Toggle menu


Strauss, Berio, Scelsi

British Museum, London

The Parthenon Room at the British Museum

Experience thought provoking music in the beautiful surroundings of the Parthenon Gallery. This opening concert in the British Museum's Europe and the World: a symphony of cultures festival brings together three extraordinary works. Metamorphosen, Richard Strauss’ commentary on the collapse of western civilisation, is performed by the London Sinfonietta in a version for seven instruments. Recital for Cathy, Luciano Berio’s preoccupation with the meaning of codes of western civilisation used in ritual is performed by mezzo-soprano Susan Bickley and London Sinfonietta pianist John Constable. Xnoybis, Scelsi’s intense meditation, opening horizons to Buddhist thought and culture, is performed by violinist Diego Tosi.

Luciano Berio Recital for Cathy
Richard Strauss Metamorphosen
Giacinto Scelsi Xnoybis

Susan Bickley mezzo-soprano
Diego Tosi violin
John Constable piano
Geoffrey Paterson conductor
London Sinfonietta 


Part of Europe and the World at the British Museum

The festival is organised by the British Museum and the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden and made possible by the Federal Foreign Office of the Federal Republic of Germany.


Please note that booking takes place on external sites.
The link will open in a new window.

  • £12 (plus concessions)


    British Museum
    Great Russell Street
    WC1B 3DG
    United Kingdom

    Box Office No:
    020 7323 8181