Skip to main content
Toggle menu

Sinfonietta Shorts

Short works from master composers

Sinfonietta Shorts are bite-sized pieces of new music from today's leading composers, commissioned, premiered and released by the London Sinfonietta. The series started in 2008 to celebrate the orchestra’s 40th birthday, and each Sinfonietta Short continues to have enduring relevance as a taster to some of the best new music and composers of our time. Several Sinfonietta Shorts are available on NMC Recordings, including works by Harrison Birtwistle, Anna Meredith and Francisco Coll. 

For more information on Sinfonietta Shorts and all of our recordings, visit our Recordings page. 

You can listen to each of the works in the Sinfonietta Shorts collection, on the NMC Recordings website

Commission your own Sinfonietta Short

For a donation of £500, you can commission your own Sinfonietta Short. To find out more, please email

Samantha Fernando on her Sinfonietta Short, Kinesphere

Recent Sinfonietta Shorts include: 

John Woolrich Good Morning (2019)
Colin Matthews Bell-whether (2018)
Toby Anderson Polite Discourse (2018)
Emma Wilde 
El Blanco (2018)
David T Little Our Sickness (2018)

Emily Howard Outlier (2018)
Josephine Stephenson Cut Hold (2018)
Elliot Galvin Lark (for trumpet) (2017)
Benjamin Oliver Changing Up (for percussion) (2017)
Emma-Ruth Richards Dark Radiance (2017)
Naomi Pinnock Sinfonietta Short (2017)
Elizabeth Winters Prelude 6:52am (2017)
Cheryl Frances-Hoad McQueen Sketches (2017)
Edward Nesbit Two lines (2017)

Emily Hall See Through (2016)
Luke Bedford Besilvering (2016)
Jordan Hunt Siren (2016)
Samantha Fernando Kinesphere (2016)
Francisco Coll Hyperlude IV (2015)
Matt Rogers Orac (2016)
Harrison Birtwistle Duet 1 (supported by Robert McFarland) (2010)
Harrison Birtwistle Duet 2 (2010)
Harrison Birtwistle Duet 4 (supported by Nick & Claire Prettejohn) (2014)
Harrison Birtwistle Duet 5 (supported by Nick & Claire Prettejohn) (2014)
Tom Coult Etudes 3 & 4 (2016)
Django Bates The Corncrake Plays the Bagpipes (2008)
Luke Bedford Great Bass Rackett (2010)
Sir Harrison Birtwistle The Message (2011)
Sir Harrison Birtwistle Bourdon (2009)
Mira Calix ort-oard (2008)
Philip Cashian Bone Machine (2011)
Tansy Davies Tymbal Organ (2011)
David Lang Lend/Lease (2008)
Anna Meredith Lylat (2008)
John Woolrich Fragment (2008)