Skip to main content
Toggle menu

Georg Friedrich Haas

This new work by Austrian composer Georg Friedrich Haas is the composer’s first major commission from the London Sinfonietta, and will be performed by the ensemble in Huddersfield and London in late 2019.

Georg Friedrich Haas

The commission will be a musical response to the work of iconic British artist Bridget Riley, whose retrospective will be exhibited at Southbank Centre's Hayward Gallery in Autumn 2019. This 45-minute work marks the ensemble's first major collaboration with the composer, and the culmination of several landmark performances of his music, beginning in 2013 with the UK premiere of in vain.

Performances in Huddersfield (November 2019) and London (December 2019)

Haas’ use of harmony is particularly appropriate to Riley’s artistic style in her use of pattern and colour. The composer's style alternates between the conventional ‘western’ tuning and that built on natural overtones, whilst Riley’s art moves between specific hues or achromatic colour tones, often creating optical illusions as the image appears to move before one's eyes. 

About Georg Friedrich Haas

Georg Friedrich Haas studied composition at the Musikhochschule in Graz with Gösta Neuwirth and Ivan Eröd. Later, he continued his studies in Vienna with Friedrich Cerha. A daringly innovative composer of rich imaginative power, Haas is considered one of the major European composers of his generation. Among the prizes he has won are the SWR Symphony Orchestra Composition Prize 2010, the Music Award of the City of Vienna 2012 and the Music Award Salzburg 2013.

Haas is known and respected internationally as a highly sensitive and imaginative researcher into the inner world of sound. Most of his works (with the notable exception of the Violin Concerto, 1998) make use of microtonality, which the composer has subjected to thorough examination in the wake of Ivan Wyschnegradsky and Alois Hába. He has taught courses and lectured on the subject in several countries; in 1999 he was invited by the Salzburg Festival to give a talk under the title “Beyond The Twelve Semitones”, with the subtitle “Attempt at a Synopsis of Microtonal Composition Techniques”.


This commission is kindly supported by Trevor Cook, Ian Baker, Nicholas Hodgson and Mark Benson.

Support this commission

Help us to do what we do best. From as little as £100 per year, you can help make new music happen and support the creation of this new work.