Sinfonietta Shorts
Short works from master composers

Sinfonietta Shorts are bite-sized pieces of new music from today's leading composers, commissioned, premiered and released by the London Sinfonietta. The series started in 2008 to celebrate the ensemble's 40th birthday, and the works created for it have enduring relevance as introductions to the best new music of our time. 

Seven years on, the series is back. Several Sinfonietta Shorts are now available as downloads on NMC Recordings, having been commissioned and premiered at our World Premiere Wednesday breakfast networking events. The works currently available for download are:

Harrison Birtwistle  Duet 3 (supported by Nick & Claire Prettejohn) 
Mark Bowden Parable (created on Writing the Future, generously supported by Michael and Patricia McLaren-Turner and Anthony Mackintosh)
Dai Fujikura es (supported by Robert Clark and Susan Costello)
Jonathan Harvey Little Duo (supported by Sir John and Lady Tusa) 
Anna Meredith Axeman

Released in 2016:

Jordan Hunt Siren
Samantha Fernando Kinesphere
Francisco Coll Hyperlude IV
Matt Rogers Orac
Harrison Birtwistle Duet 1 (supported by Robert McFarland)
Harrison Birtwistle Duet 2
Harrison Birtwistle Duet 4 (supported by Nick & Claire Prettejohn) 
Harrison Birtwistle Duet 5 (supported by Nick & Claire Prettejohn) 

Click here to download these from NMC Recordings.

Works recently premiered include:

Jordan Hunt Siren
Elspeth Brooke Green Spring
Tom Coult Etudes 3 & 4
Charlie Usher Western edge, euphrates, desert tract
Samantha Fernando Kinesphere
Larry Goves Extracts from South Korea and Japan 2002
Gerald Barry Crossing the Bar
Django Bates The Corncrake Plays the Bagpipes
Luke Bedford Great Bass Rackett
Sir Harrison Birtwistle The Message
Sir Harrison Birtwistle Bourdon
Mira Calix ort-oard 
Philip Cashian Bone Machine
Tansy Davies Tymbal Organ
David Lang Lend/Lease 
Anna Meredith Lylat
John Woolrich Fragment

To find out about commissioning a Sinfonietta Short of your own, email


The New Music Show

Dec 8 2013 - 12:00pm